Mariner Credentialing

The Mariner Credentialing (MC) Department oversees the licensing of students in the Marine Engineering and Marine Transportation undergraduate programs. The MC Department ensures that students seeking a license properly implement the policies established by the USCG from orientation through license issuance. Students in license-bearing programs must attend training and exhibit competence in many areas such as medical first aid, firefighting, security, and survival craft.

The students' records in the areas of the required competencies are tracked and maintained to ensure that the license candidate can qualify to test for his/her third assistant engineer (engineering officer) or third mate (deck officer) exam administered by the USCG first class year in order to obtain their license as a merchant marine officer.

This office serves currently enrolled students and graduates of Massachusetts Maritime Academy.  Professional courses for members of the general public are offered through the Center for Maritime Professional Training

Career information regarding licensing and credentials is available to non-student mariners at the U.S. Coast Guard's National Maritime Center website (http://www.uscg.mil/nmc/).

Students Start Here: The Licensing Process        National Maritime Center Annoucements

CDR Marie Huhnke
Director, Mariner Credentialing
Harrington Hall, Room 204-B
508-830-5071
mhuhnke@maritime.edu
Make Appointment with CDR Huhnke
Ms. Lisa Cervantes
Administrative Assistant
Harrington Hall, Room 204-B
508-830-5000 extension 2024
lcervantes@maritime.edu
Make Appointment with Ms. Cervantes
LT Barnaby Bosanquet
Staff Assistant
Harrington Hall, Room 204-B
508-830-5000 extension 2045
bbosanquet@maritime.edu
Make Appointment with LT Bosanquet
LT Earl Mayhofer
Assistant Director, STCW Compliance
Harrington Hall, Room 305-B
508-830-2113
emayhofer@maritime.edu
LT Andrew Perron
Staff Assistant
Bresnahan Hall, Room 131 (SeaLab)
508-830-5000
aperron@maritime.edu
LT Edward Vacha
Staff Assistant
Harrington Hall, Room 305-B
508-830-5000 extension 2045
evacha@maritime.edu

 

 

 

 

Students Holding Firehose