Admissions - CONECT... for Success

Maritime students standing in front of Conect sign

No – it’s not spelled wrong. CONECT stands for Coalition of New England Companies for Trade, a non-profit, member-based business association for companies involved in international trade and/or transportation. And, they like to invest in young talent by offering merit based scholarships.

This year CONECT awarded seven scholarships – five to MMA cadets!  CONECT executive, Bob Leadbetter applauded this feat in a letter of congratulations that included, “This year Massachusetts Maritime has completely separated itself within CONECT as an educational institution.  We have never experienced such sheer dominance of one school,” he wrote. (See complete list below.)  The students were felicitated at an award luncheon during the recent Annual Trade and Transportation Conference hosted by CONECT in Newport, RI.

2/C Peter Owen, 2012 Dover-Sherborn Regional High (MA) grad and current International Maritime Business major, was awarded the Gemini Shippers Association scholarship, via CONECT.  Owen is 3rd Company Squad leader, Teacher’s Assistant for Microeconomics and Quantitative Analysis, member of Big Brother Big Sister, VP of the Propeller Club … and in his spare time … lifts weights and reads a lot.  This cadet plans to work for a large shipping or oil company after graduation.  “I know the education and leadership skills I’ve acquired while here will prepare me for a long, successful career.  This scholarship will certainly help me get where I want to go,” he said.  “I chose the Academy because I knew I would thrive in an environment based around order and discipline.  I also wanted to improve my leadership skills in the process,” he finished. Owen was recently chosen to represent the International Maritime Business Department as the new IMB Operations Officer.  He will have plenty of opportunities to hone his leadership skills this year.

  • Donald E Cameron Scholarship Award Winner - Derek Damon
  • Gemini Shippers Association Award Winner - Peter Owen
  • Dorea International Scholarship Award Winner - Emily Behen
  • General Scholarship Award - Joseph Kiley
  • General Scholarship Award - Karina Pena-Seda