About the Salute to the Maritime Person of the Year

Previous Emery Rice Recepients Previous Recipients of the Emery Rice Medal

The Emery Rice Medal
Massachusetts Maritime Academy honors a civilian or military leader with a distinguished career of excellence, innovation and service to the maritime industries and other industries we serve and honors them with the Emery Rice Medal at our Salute to the Maritime Person of the Year events. Past honorees have included admirals, captains, CEO’s, and leading maritime executives from around the globe. Our honoree is presented with the Captain Emery Rice medal named for an 1897 Academy graduate and WWI hero. Captain Rice was recognized twice by Theodore Roosevelt for his maritime skill and bravery as a shining example of American courage and fighting spirit.

This medal has been presented to a select group of maritime professionals who have contributed significantly to the advancement of the very principles taught at the Academy; leadership, ethics, business sense and respect for the ocean environment. All medal recipients have one thing in common, they have earned the respect of their peers.

Previous Recipients Include:
(Organization/Title at the time of Award)
  • 1995  Admiral William J. Flanangan, Jr. USN - Commander in Chief, US Atlantic Fleet
  • 1996  Mr. Gerhard E. Kurz of - CEO, Seabulk International
  • 1997  Mr. Morton S. Bouchard, III - President, Bouchard Transportation Co., Inc.
  • 1998  Mr. Michael D. Tusiani - Chairman & CEO, Proten & Partners, Inc.
  • 1999  Mr. Peter Livanos - Chairman, Ceres Hellenic Shipping Enterprises, Ltd.
  • 2000  Mr. Joseph S.K. Kwok - Group Chief Operating Office, NOL & President, AET
  • 2001  Mr. Lars Carlsson - President, Concordia Maritime AB & Chairman, Intertanko
  • 2002  Mr. Joseph P. Gehegan, Jr. - President & COO, United States Shipping, LLC
  • 2003  Rear Admiral Maurice J. Bresnahan, Jr., USN (Ret.) - President Massachusetts Maritime Academy
  • 2004  Mr. Dennis M. Houston - Executive Vice President, ExxonMobil & Supply Co. Chairman, Mobil Oil Shipping & Transportation
  • 2005  Vice Admiral Vivian S. Crea, USCG - Commander, Coast Guard Atlantic Area Commander, Maritime Defense Zone Atlantic
  • 2006  Mr. Paul R. Tregurtha - Chairman & CEO, Mormac Marine Group
  • 2006  Mr. John A. Angelicoussis - Chairman & CEO, Angelicoussis Shipping Group
  • 2007  Mr. Alan S. McKim - Chairman & CEO, Clean Harbors Environmental
  • 2008  Mr. Morten Arntzen - President & CEO, Overseas Shipholding Group, Inc.
  • 2009  Mr. Robert Somerville - Chairman & CEO, American Bureau of Shipping
  • 2010  Mr. Geoffrey C. Wilkinson - President & CEO George T. Wilkinson, Inc.
  • 2011  Mr. Soren Skou - CEO Maersk Tankers
  • 2013  Mr. David W. Williams - President & CEO, Noble Drilling Corporation
  • 2015  McAllister Family - McAllister Towing & Transportation Co., Inc.
  • 2017  Mr. Christopher J. Wiernicki - President, Chairman & CEO, American Bureau of Shipping